How to read Nutritional Labels

Unless you know what you are looking for, food labels can be confusing and more importantly deceiving. Sometimes I think that food producers try to throw you a curve ball to catch in a week moment. I realize it is exhausting, however you have to do homework to eat the right things. Always pay particular attention the the service size. This is the deception part. If the Nutritional values look to good to be true, they probably are! Stay alert and watch out for tricky math!!

US Food and Drug Administration – How Read & Understand Nutritional Labels

Irony

When I started this blog, I chose the name “I BEAT ANOREXIA” because I thought it was funny. As I have stated before I always have been a fat boy. I have never been a victim of anorexia. Therefore I thought that the irony was funny. I by no means meant to offend or put anyone down. I understand that anorexia and other eating disorders are real nothing to joke about. If I offended anyone I am truly sorry. Communication is the key, keep the lines open and there is not problem you can’t work out.

“Everyone has problems; some are just better at hiding them.” ~Unknown

Caloric Intake too Low? Not good!!

Is it possible not to eat enough? Well apparently it is. When you body goes into starvation mode, it tends to hold on to all the fat as a protection mechanism. So I guess I need to ramp up the calories a bit to try to keep my metabolism activated. MyNetDiary.com has been trying to tell me that, but I thought if I kept it under the amount they recommended than I would lose weight faster. Seems right? Guess not. Apparently they are the experts and not me. Imagine.

Now I need to start the delicate balance act of eating enough to maintain my metabolism, but yet not exceeding needed calories. Sweet Jesus this hard work.

Reasons to eat enough calories.

“After climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb.” ~Nelson Mandela

Have you hit a wall? Weight Loss Plateau Information

We all do it, we all will hit the preverbal wall at sometime. I think I may be there. For the first week I was dropping pounds like nothing. Then all the sudden, I gained and the subsequent loss was much slower. Apparently it’s to be expected. I found a great articlce on BuildLean.com. I will not be discouraged by this stalemate.

“To succeed you must first improve, to improve you must first practice, to practice you must first learn, to learn you must first fail.” ~Wesley Woo

20130421-122604.jpg

Day 10 – 321.8 pounds – 51.8 to go!

Good Morning!!

Yesterday was a challenge. It all started when I woke up and jumped on the scales only to find that I had gained weight. That gain could have been a temporary set back if I would have let it, but instead I decided to use it for motivation. I started the day out really good yesterday. I was so busy that I didn’t really have time to think about food. I was doing so well, then evening came. I never was really all that hungry throughout the day, but evening was another story. Friday’s are the kids eat out day. I would normally participate, however this week I elected not to. I waited until I got home and cooked rice, chicken and broccoli. Good for me right. Well my son’s meal choice was a pizza from Little Caesars. He loves that place and for $5 for an entire pizza you can’t beat the deal. He eats healthy the rest of the week so this is his splurge meal. I am sad to report that I buckled and had 1 ONE Slice of the devil food. Now on the whole it still keep me under my daily caloric intake, but I’m kicking myself that I couldn’t find the will power to say no. Maybe next time. Oh well, even with that momentary lapse of judgment I did pretty well.

Here was my menu / caloric intake for yesterday:

Breakfast: 220 calories
* Egg Beaters Omelet with ham, mushrooms & cheese
* Supplements

Lunch: 220 calories
* Pro Performance Vanilla Protein Shake
* 2% Milk

Dinner: 700 calories
* Boil in Bag Whole Grain Rice
* Chicken Breast
* Broccoli
* One Slice Little Caesars Pizza – the devil got to me!
* BW3 Mild Sauce

Snacks: 395 calories
* Brazil Nuts
* 2% Milk
* Chocolate Syrup

All and all not a bad day, HOWEVER could have been much better.

THANK YOU again for your support and have a great day.